top of page

Land Use Planning

The service is offered inclusively to citizens who reside within the boundaries of the Grand Falls Regional Municipality. This department processes applications for development, construction and renovation permits. It also handles all files related to zoning and subdivision.

In addition, it offers a 911 number service for public security purposes.

Whether it is for a weekend project or a job that will take several weeks to complete, please ensure that you respect the regulations in effect and that you have the necessary information or permits to complete your project.

Land use maps
Cartes zonage
Plans & Zoning By-law

* The Grand Falls Regional Municipality is currently developing a new municipal plan and zoning by-law for its entire territory.

Building permits
Permis de construction

The Grand Falls Regional Municipality is pleased to offer residents, builders, and the business community Cloudpermit – an online system to apply for and track your building permits.  The Cloudpermit building permit system allows for you to apply for and see the status of your application anywhere, at any time. Il est encore possible de soumettre un demande permis format papier. It is still possible to submit a paper permit application.

Getting started with Cloudpermit

Cloudpermit has provided a tutorial video on how to use cloudpermit and submit permits below.

To get started with Cloudpermit, you will need to create an account.  You will require a valid email address to use the system.

  1. Go to the Cloudpermit site at https://ca.cloudpermit.com/login

  2. Click on “Create a New Account” found under the “continue” arrow.

  3. Provide your email address.

  4. Cloudpermit will send an email to the address you have provided.

  5. Open the email and complete the registration process. The next time you visit the site, you'll login using your email and password.

  6. Login to Cloudpermit. 

  7. Click the "Apply for a Permit" button in the upper right-hand corner. Create a New Project and give it a name that relates to the project with the address. The project name can be changed at a later date. Then select NEXT

  8. Provide the Location where the work will be taking place. Change the municipality (drop-down menu in the upper right-hand corner) to Grand Falls. You can then type in your address or roll number, OR you can find your property on the map. All the fields with an asterisk must be completed, if the property is vacant with no civic address, enter in ## as the address number, select NEXT

  9. Select the Application Type and Category appropriate for your project. Most of the categories are self-explanatory but note that you would select “accessory structures” for smaller structures like sheds, detached garages, sunrooms, detached decks. Trailer Parks will use the Residential category Then select NEXT

  10. At this point, you'll see a Summary. Check if the information is accurate. If you need to make changes, use the "Back" button. If everything is correct, click I am the Application and then select CREATE APPLICATION

Starting a new application

Permit dashboard

You have now arrived at the permit dashboard where you will complete the details of your submission.  The information listed at the top of the page will be for the property including the roll number, legal description, permit number and the date submitted.

That will be followed by the Application link and Work & Construction link.  Work and Construction will become active once the permit has been issued.  Steps for application completion will be visible at this point listed as step 3/6.  The application will need certain fields completed before submission, this will be shown under Building Permit, there will be 4 boxes indicated in Red or Green depending the stage of completion.

Parties to the application

The parties to the application will be the individuals or organizations involved in the permit process, all parties will be notified when any changes are made to the application or messages received to the public.

In order for a green check mark to appear in the parties menu, an applicant and property owner must be assigned.  The property owner and applicant information must be entered manually by selecting the “add or invite party” clickable link which will bring up a new box.  Click “input details manually and add the party immediately”, this will bring up several fields to be completed, please note all fields with an asterisk must be completed.  Assign the roles of Property owner and applicant.

Any other parties that want to be added can be done so without selecting the box to “input details manually and add the party immediately”.  You may provide the email address alone and select a role for the party.

Application

Depending the permit type, you will have two or three selectable applications.  Complete all the information that has a red asterisk beside the field.

Fee's and payment

This information will be completed by building staff and will appear once the permit is under review by the building official.  All parties in attendance will be notified when this information is updated by email.  Please note the payment options in the first paragraph under fee’s and payments.

Attachements

Each permit type will require different attachments.  The system will determine what attachments are required for the project and will show up in red if the attachment type has not been uploaded, and green if it has been received.  You may drag and drop files into the box, or manually upload them from your computer. 

 

Once the files have been uploaded, you must assign them a file type from the drop down menu. If there is a particular attachment that doesn’t apply to your project, the system will still require it to select it from the drop down menu when assigning attachment types and assign it to a file.

 

If HVAC doesn’t apply to your drawing but the system is indicating it requires it, you can assign the HVAC attachment to the architectural drawing to receive a green pass for the attachment type.  You may assign multiple file types to a singular attachment.  Please do not upload the same file multiple times and assign it the attachment types the system is looking for.

Sign off / Submit permit

If you scroll to the top of the page, the purple button Sign off should be available to select, this will be grayed out still if you do not have three green check marks in the required tasks bar.  In the sign off page, please select the appropriate Tarion information, and all applicable law sections.  You may upload a completed page 2 form at the bottom of the page, or submit the application as the applicant.  You will then be required to submit the permit which will be a purple button in the same location as sign off.

Once the permit has been submitted, building staff will be notified that a new permit has been received and will be reviewed by staff.  A list of reviews will appear at the bottom of your dashboard once staff have placed the submission into the review stage.  The status will reflect the current review stage and any party that has accepted an invite will be notified when any status changes on the permit submission.

Once all reviews are complete and payment for the permit has been received, the permit will be digitally generated.  The permit will become available in the Application tab underneath the Reviews box for digital download.  Staff will bring a laminated copy of the first page of the permit to be placed on site to display the nature of construction.

Messages

A function that is used by staff to communicate with the applicants and parties involved is the messaging function.  The button is located in the top right of the Cloudpermit webpage and can be used to ask staff questions, or receive important information from building staff.  During the review process, staff will communicate through the messaging portal for any deficiencies or other relevant information.  An email is sent to the parties that have accepted an invite to the Cloudpermit portal for all correspondence in the public form, or if a direct message is sent.

Inspections

Once your permit has been issued through cloudpermit, your dashboard will automatically direct you to the work & construction tab.  In this tab you may request inspections for a date and time slot.  Staff will confirm the inspection with the applicant and advise if the inspection request can not be accommodated on the selected date.  All inspection information will be updated in real time when the inspector is on site including photos and attachments.

The inspector may require that additional items be added to the cloudpermit file such as supporting documents for an inspection.  There will be a attachments section in the work & construction tab which you can upload attachments too, please notify staff through the messaging portal if you add any documents.

All inspections will have the function to be printed once completed by entering the appropriate inspection and scrolling to the bottom of the page.

If at any point you require assistance with your submission, please don’t hesitate to contact the Land Use department at 506-475-7777 extension 3.

Why do you need a permit?

Some construction and development projects require a permit from the Land and Use Department. Please contact the Land and Use Department before applying for a permit so that you have all the information needed for your application.

The Grand Falls Regional Municipality requires that constructions meet health, safety and property protection standards as regulated by the National Building Code of Canada and all civic by-laws. Constructions should create structures in which it is safe to live and work. This should be carried out in a manner that maintains or improves property values. You must demonstrate that your construction will meet these requirements before a permit is issued.

Who should apply and where for the permit?

The owner or agent should apply in person for a building permit at the Land Use Planning Department. Discuss this with your contractor.

Projects that require a Building Permit:

  • All new Industrial and Commercial including renovations and additions.

  • Construction of a new home.

  • Addition to an existing home, whether it is a new room, carport, garage or sundeck, add dormers or roof over existing sundeck.

  • Excavation to provide a full basement or install weeping or drain tile.

  • Alter and construct new interior partitions.

  • Install new chimney, do electrical or plumbing work.

  • Replacement of siding, windows and doors.

  • Change the use to or from a single family from or to multi-family.

  • Home occupation in a home, or change of use in commercial for a convenience store or law office to or from beauty salon, medical office etc.

  • Erect signs either freestanding or fascia,

  • Industrial and commercial roofing.

  • Erect accessory buildings (shed, garage).

Projects that do not require a building Permit:

  • Re-shingle a roof (residential only).

  • Interior finish work (flooring,trims,paint,wallpaper)

  • Landscaping around building.

  • Installation of kitchen and bathroom cabinets.

  • Repair of existing chimney.

What information is required?

  • Your mailing address, telephone number.

  • Location and address of proposed worksite.

  • Surveyor plan of property or copy of deed

  • Department of Environment or Health approval certificate if required, where there are no services available.

  • New construction or addition - you will need a full set of plans to scale showing all sections and cross-sections with details of work to be done.

  • All renovation,

  • Repair or replace, deck or steps, fence, swimming pool, tents,

  • Change of use (occupancy), demolition and signs may require plans.

When is the seal of an architect or professional engineer required?

All plans and specifications provided in a building permit application shall be certified under the seal of an architect or professional engineer registered or licensed to practice in the province of New Brunswick where the work involves the  construction of, or addition to, a building which exceeds 600 square meters in building area or three stories in building height or is used for assembly, institutional, and high-hazard industrial occupancies.

Planning Advisory Committee

A new committee will soon be formed to represent the territory of the Grand Falls Regional Municipality.

The PAC is a working group established under the New Brunswick Community Planning Act.  Its mandate is to:

 

  • To advise Council on community planning matters

  • To exercise quasi-judicial powers as provided in the Community Planning Act with respect to by-laws and regulations effective within the City (e.g. make decisions on variance, terms and conditions, rulings of compatibility, temporary use, and non-conforming use applications, etc.).

 

Composition of the PAC

  • 2 resident citizens - Drummond Ward

  • 3 citizen residents - Grand Falls North and South Ward

  • 2 citizen residents - Saint-André Ward

  • 1 citizen resident - Portage Ward

  • Assisted by the Land Use Department staff

 

This committee meets once a month in a regular evening session. The term of office for each citizen-member is from 1 to 3 years.

bottom of page

top of page

Utilisation des terres

Le service est offert inclusivement aux citoyens qui demeurent à l'intérieur des limites de la Municipalité régionale de Grand-Sault. Ce département traite les demandes de permis d'aménagement, de construction et de rénovation. Il traite aussi tous dossiers relatifs au zonage et lotissement.

 

De plus, il offre le service de numéro civique à des fins de sécurité publique 911.

Que ce soit pour un projet de fin de semaine ou un travail qui nécessitera plusieurs semaines, veuillez vous assurer que vous respectez les règlements en vigueur et que vous avez l'information ou les permis nécessaires pour mener à terme votre projet.

Cartes d'aménagement du territoire
Cartes zonage
Plans et Arrêté de zonage

* La Municipalité régionale de Grand-Sault est présentement en cours d'élaboration d'un nouveau plan municipal et arrêté de zonage pour l'ensemble de son territoire.

Permis de construction

Permis de construction

La Municipalité régionale de Grand-Sault a le plaisir d'offrir aux résidents, aux constructeurs et aux entreprises Cloudpermit - un système en ligne pour demander et suivre vos permis de construire.  Le système de permis de construire Cloudpermit vous permet de faire une demande et de voir l'état de votre demande n'importe où, n'importe quand. Il est encore possible de soumettre un demande permis format papier.

Démarrer avec Cloudpermit

Cloudpermit a mis à disposition une vidéo tutorielle sur l'utilisation de cloudpermit et la soumission de permis ci-dessous (en anglais seulement).

Pour commencer avec Cloudpermit, vous devrez créer un compte.  Vous aurez besoin d'une adresse électronique valide pour utiliser le système.

  1. Rendez-vous sur le site Cloudpermit https://ca.cloudpermit.com/login

  2. Cliquez sur « Créer un nouveau compte » sous la flèche « continuer ».

  3. Indiquez votre adresse électronique.

  4. Cloudpermit enverra un courriel à l'adresse que vous avez fournie.

  5. Ouvrez le courriel et terminez le processus d'inscription. La prochaine fois que vous visiterez le site, vous vous connecterez en utilisant votre courriel et votre mot de passe.

  6. Connectez-vous à Cloudpermit.

  7. Cliquez sur le bouton « Demander un permis » dans le coin supérieur droit. Créez un nouveau projet et donnez-lui un nom qui se rapporte au projet avec l'adresse. Le nom du projet peut être modifié à une date ultérieure. Sélectionnez ensuite SUIVANT

  8. Indiquez l'endroit où les travaux auront lieu. Remplacez la municipalité (menu déroulant dans le coin supérieur droit) par Grand-Sault. Vous pouvez ensuite taper votre adresse ou votre numéro de rôle, OU vous pouvez trouver votre propriété sur la carte. Tous les champs avec un astérisque doivent être remplis, si la propriété est vacante sans adresse municipale, entrez ## comme numéro d'adresse, sélectionnez SUIVANT

  9. Sélectionnez le type de demande et la catégorie appropriés pour votre projet. La plupart des catégories sont explicites, mais notez que vous devez sélectionner « structures accessoires » pour les structures plus petites comme les hangars, les garages détachés, les solariums, les terrasses détachées. Trailer Parks utilisera la catégorie Résidentiel Sélectionnez ensuite SUIVANT.

  10. À ce stade, vous verrez un résumé. Vérifiez si l'information est exacte. Si vous devez apporter des modifications, utilisez le bouton « Retour ». Si tout est correct, cliquez sur Je suis l'application, puis sélectionnez CRÉER UNE APPLICATION.

Démarrage d'une nouvelle soumission

Tableau de bord des permis

Vous êtes maintenant arrivé au tableau de bord des permis où vous remplirez les détails de votre soumission.  Les informations énumérées en haut de la page seront pour la propriété, y compris le numéro de rôle, la description légale, le numéro de permis et la date de soumission.

Cela sera suivi par le lien Demande et le lien Travaux et Construction.  Les travaux et la construction deviendront actifs une fois que le permis aura été délivré.  Les étapes d'achèvement de la demande seront visibles à ce stade indiqué à l'étape 3/6.  La demande devra remplir certains champs avant la soumission, cela sera indiqué sous Permis de construction, il y aura 4 cases indiquées en rouge ou en vert en fonction de l'étape d'achèvement.

Les parties de la soumission

Les parties à la demande seront les personnes ou les organisations impliquées dans le processus de délivrance de permis, toutes les parties seront avisées lorsque des changements seront apportés à la demande ou des messages reçus au public.

Pour qu'une coche verte apparaisse dans le menu des parties, un applicant et un propriétaire doivent être attitrés.  Les renseignements sur le propriétaire et l’applicant doivent être entrés manuellement en sélectionnant le lien cliquable « ajouter ou inviter une partie » qui fera apparaître une nouvelle case. 

 

Cliquez sur « entrez les détails manuellement et ajoutez la partie immédiatement », cela fera apparaître plusieurs champs à remplir, veuillez noter que tous les champs avec un astérisque doivent être remplis.  Attribuez les rôles de propriétaire et de applicant.

Toutes les autres parties qui souhaitent être ajoutées peuvent le faire sans sélectionner la case pour « saisir les détails manuellement et ajouter la partie immédiatement ».  Vous pouvez fournir l'adresse électronique seule et sélectionner un rôle pour la partie.

Demande d'admission

Selon le type de permis, vous aurez deux ou trois demandes sélectionnables. Complétez toutes les informations qui ont un astérisque rouge à côté du champ.

Frais et paeiment

Ces renseignements seront remplis par le personnel de l'immeuble et apparaîtront une fois que le permis sera en cours d'examen par le responsable du bâtiment. Toutes les parties présentes seront informées lorsque ces informations seront mises à jour par courriel. Veuillez noter les options de paiement dans le premier paragraphe sous les frais et les paiements.

Pièces jointes

Chaque type de permis nécessitera des pièces jointes différentes.  Le système déterminera quelles pièces jointes sont requises pour le projet et apparaîtra en rouge si le type de pièce jointe n'a pas été téléchargé, et en vert s'il a été reçu.

 

Vous pouvez faire glisser et déposer des fichiers dans la boîte ou les télécharger manuellement à partir de votre ordinateur.  Une fois les fichiers téléchargés, vous devez leur attribuer un type de fichier dans le menu déroulant. S'il y a une pièce jointe particulière qui ne s'applique pas à votre projet, le système l'obligera toujours à la sélectionner dans le menu déroulant lors de l'affectation de types de pièces jointes et à l'affecter à un fichier.

 

Si le CVC ne s'applique pas à votre dessin, mais que le système indique qu'il l'exige, vous pouvez affecter la pièce jointe CVC au dessin architectural pour recevoir un laissez-passer vert pour le type de pièce jointe.  Vous pouvez affecter plusieurs types de fichiers à une pièce jointe singulière.  Veuillez ne pas télécharger le même fichier plusieurs fois et lui attribuer les types de pièces jointes que le système recherche.

Approuver / soumettre le permis

Si vous faites défiler vers le haut de la page, le bouton violet Se déconnecter devrait être disponible pour sélectionner, cela sera grisé encore si vous n'avez pas trois coches vertes dans la barre des tâches requises.  Dans la page d'approbation, veuillez sélectionner les informations Tarion appropriées et toutes les sections de droit applicables.  Vous pouvez télécharger un formulaire de la page 2 dûment rempli au bas de la page ou soumettre la demande en tant que demandeur.  Vous devrez ensuite soumettre le permis qui sera un bouton violet au même endroit que l'approbation.

Une fois le permis soumis, le personnel du bâtiment sera avisé qu'un nouveau permis a été reçu et sera examiné par le personnel.  Une liste d'évaluations apparaîtra au bas de votre tableau de bord une fois que le personnel aura placé la soumission à l'étape de l'examen.  Le statut reflétera l'étape actuelle de l'examen et toute partie qui a accepté une invitation sera avisée lorsque tout changement de statut sur la demande de permis.

Une fois que tous les examens seront terminés et que le paiement du permis aura été reçu, le permis sera généré numériquement.  Le permis sera disponible dans l'onglet Demande sous la case Avis pour téléchargement numérique.  Le personnel apportera une copie laminée de la première page du permis à placer sur place pour afficher la nature de la construction.

Messages

Une fonction utilisée par le personnel pour communiquer avec les demandeurs et les parties concernées est la fonction de messagerie.  Le bouton est situé en haut à droite de la page Web cloudpermit et peut être utilisé pour poser des questions au personnel ou recevoir des informations importantes du personnel du bâtiment.  Au cours du processus d'examen, le personnel communiquera par l'entremise du portail de messagerie pour toute lacune ou autre information pertinente.  Un courriel est envoyé aux parties qui ont accepté une invitation au portail cloudpermit pour toute correspondance dans le formulaire public, ou si un message direct est envoyé.

Inspections

Une fois votre permis délivré via Cloudpermit, votre tableau de bord vous dirigera automatiquement vers l'onglet travail et construction.  Dans cet onglet, vous pouvez demander des inspections pour une plage de dates et d'heures.  Le personnel confirmera l'inspection auprès du demandeur et indiquera si la demande d'inspection ne peut pas être satisfaite à la date choisie.  Tous les renseignements sur l'inspection seront mis à jour en temps réel lorsque l'inspecteur sera sur place, y compris les photos et les pièces jointes.

L'inspecteur peut exiger que des éléments supplémentaires soient ajoutés au fichier Cloudpermit, tels que des documents justificatifs pour une inspection.  Il y aura une section de pièces jointes dans l'onglet travail et construction que vous pouvez également télécharger des pièces jointes, veuillez informer le personnel via le portail de messagerie si vous ajoutez des documents.

Toutes les inspections auront la fonction à imprimer une fois terminée en entrant l'inspection appropriée et en faisant défiler vers le bas de la page.

Si, à tout moment, vous avez besoin d'aide pour votre soumission, n'hésitez pas à contacter le département d’Utilisation des Terres au 506-475-7777 poste 3.

Pourquoi avez-vous besoin d'un permis?

Si vous souhaitez effectuer certains projets de construction sur un bâtiment ou d’aménagement sur un terrain, vous devez, au préalable, obtenir un permis auprès du département d'utilisation des terres de la Municipalité régionale de Grand-Sault.  ​Il est recommandé de communiquer le service de planification et développement avant de faire une demande de permis afin d'obtenir toutes les informations nécessaires à la demande.

La Municiplaité régionale de Grand-Sault exige que les constructions soient conformes aux normes de santé, de sécurité et de protection de la propriété  prescrites par le Code national du bâtiment du Canada et les arrêtés municipaux. La construction devrait créer des structures dans lesquelles on peut vivre et travailler en toute sécurité. De plus, elle devrait contribuer à conserver ou augmenter la valeur des propriétés. Avant qu’un permis ne soit délivré, vous devez démontrer que votre projet répond à ces critères.

Qui doit faire la demande?

Le propriétaire ou son représentant doit faire la demande en personne à l’édifice municipal situé au 131 rue Pleasant dans la ville de Grand-Sault. Discutez-en avec votre entrepreneur.

Quand vous faut-il un permis?

  • Tous les travaux de construction soit industriel ou commercial et additions.

  • Construction d’une nouvelle maison.

  • Addition d’une nouvelle chambre,  garage attaché, abri d’auto ou terrasse.

  • Balcon avec toiture ou lucarne.

  • Excavation pour nouvelle fondation ou pour installation du drain.

  • Construction ou transformation de cloison et mur intérieur.

  • Installer une nouvelle cheminée, de faire l’électrique ou plomberie.

  • Refaire le revêtement ou  installer de nouvelles portes et fenêtres.

  • Changer l’utilisation de résidentiel unifamiliale à bi familiale ou pour activité professionnelle à domicile ou changer commercial, bureau de droit, et  médical ou salon de beauté etc.

  • Installer enseigne, autoportante ou structure de façade.

  • Refaire couverture industriel ou commercial.

  • Nouvelle construction de bâtiment accessoire (remise, garage).

Travaux dont un permis n'est pas nécessaire:

  • Peinture ou tapisserie.

  • Refaire un toit résidentiel.

  • Faire le paysage autour de la maison. (landscape)

  • Installer des armoires de cuisine ou de salle de bain.

Quels renseignement faut-il fournir?

  • Votre adresse et numéros de téléphone.

  • Adresse de la construction proposée.

  • Plan du lotissement ou copie de l’acte de transfert.

  • Une approbation du ministère de l’Environnement  ou Santé est obligatoire lorsque des services d’eau et d’égout ne sont pas disponibles.

  • Pour une nouvelle construction ou addition tous les plans à l’échelle appropriée et doivent être lisibles et démontrer toutes les sections transversales pertinentes de la construction.

  • Toute rénovation

  • Réparation ou changement, terrasse ou escaliers, clôture, piscine, tentes

  • Changement d’utilisation, démolition ou enseigne pourraient demander un plan.

Quand le sceau d'un architecte ou d'un ingénieur est-il exigé?

Tous les plans et devis fournis dans une demande de permis de construction doivent être authentifiés au moyen du sceau d’un architecte ou d’un ingénieur agréé ou autorisé à exercer dans la province du Nouveau-Brunswick lorsque les travaux prévoient la construction d’un bâtiment ou une addition à un bâtiment : de plus de 600 mètres carrés d’aire ou de trois étages de hauteur, ou utilisée comme lieu de réunion, comme établissement industriel dangereux ou à des fins institutionnelles ou commerciales.

Comité consultatif en urbanisme

Le Comité consultatif en urbanisme (CCU) est un groupe de travail constitué en vertu de la Loi sur l’urbanisme du Nouveau-Brunswick.  Le mandat de celui-ci est :

 

  • Donner des avis et à formuler des recommandations au conseil sur les questions d’urbanisme

  • Exercer un pouvoir quasi-judiciaire tel que défini par la Loi sur l’urbanisme du Nouveau-Brunswick quant au respect des arrêtés municipaux et règlements en vigueur au sein de la municipalité (ex. décisions sur des variances, termes et conditions, règles de compatibilité, utilisation temporaire et mise en vigueur d’applications de non-conformités)

 

Composition du CCU

  • 2 citoyens(nes) résident(e)s – Quartier Drummond

  • 3 citoyens(nes) résident(e)s – Quartier Grand-Sault Nord et Sud

  • 2 citoyens(nes) résident(e)s – Quartier Saint-André

  • 1 citoyens(ne) résident(e) – Quartier Portage

  • Assisté par le personnel du département d’utilisation des terres

 

Ce comité se réunit une fois par mois en séance régulière se déroulant en soirée. La durée du mandat de chaque membre-citoyen est de de 1 à 3 ans.

bottom of page